Woody Bay HIgh Tide

We were told the was a 12m surge in tide level so I took a couple of photos as I couldnt believe it could be that much change.

Woodu Bay Low Tide

Woodu Bay Low Tide

…until I saw the difference. Although it looks really grey and cold, it wasn’t. This view faces east and the winds all week were westerly’s so we didn’t have any wind chill factor until the last day. What I didnt realise, is how clear the skies would be.

A couple of days in, we found out that Exmoor has gained the prestidgeous title of ‘Dark Sky Preserve‘. The first in the UK and only the second in the World. They do alot to make sure that there is no unecessary light pollution to keep the sky clear. Ive seen clear nights in Croydon and the sky looks wonderful. Absolutley nothing compared to the sky above our little cottage. Unfortunately, Ive not had much long exposure practise with my new camera, so the the start shots for this night were not that good (didn’t turn the lights out in the cottage.

If you take a look at the picture above and look to the left of top middle, you can see a white blob. Thats a cottage, with a 750ft drop right in front of it. The next picture is the same view a night and you can see it much more clearly.

Cliff Hanger

Cliff Hanger

As I was unsure how to play with long exposure settings for nightime all had the same settings – ISO 3200, Exp 30s, f 3.3. As you can see above, this is the only building on the this cliff face. There are others further up the coast but I thought this was quite stark – a lonely eye looking over the bay to Wales.

Below is one of my favorite pictures of the week. The result isn’t what I intended but the towns of Port Talbot(left) and Swansea(right) lok as if they are on fire or are at war. The sort of image you might get from BBC24  somewhere in the far east. I don’t know what you think but I love this shot. Maybe not the clarity and focus you would want from a good quality picture, but not too bad for a first attempt. The last picture is taken slightly to the right but with the no flash and the results are markedly different. I also like this one as well. Quite subdued but haunting.

Wales on Fire

Wales on Fire

Wales South Coast

Wales South Coast

While I was waiting for these pictures to upload, I was taking a sneak peek at the next lot of pictures. I was trying to think of a theme for the next but there are so many. One thing Ive found my camera will do is panoramic shots. I think next time I will give you all of those for the week. They look great and we are considering having some made up into pictures to have around the house. See you next time. Nick

About nickbarban

RHS Qualified Horticulturalist and Garden Coach. I have been maintaining, designing and buidling gardens since 2002. With the company's 10 year anniversary coming up this year Im planning a whole host of stuff to give back, including blogging. Im here to answer your questions, give advice and just natter about anything to do with your garden. I'll be posting pictures and video and Id likr to see your gardens too. Nick Barban

Leave a Reply

