Most of the time, the visitors to my garden are well behaved. Some of you will have seen a post a little while ago of one of the squirrel family that comes in and steels the fat balls. I bought a tub of 50 just before christmas and now, I think there are about 10 left. So I needed to find a way reducing the expense to me and also leaving some of the balls for the other birds. I settled on this more natural looking one £7.

However, the main issue I was having was with the starlings. God they’re messy eaters. I’m sure that for every seed they eat, they must drop a hundred. This nifty little feeder(top) doesnt have a tray at the bottom, birds just feed from the side. I hadn’t seen one before, probably because I wasnt looking. Of course, the other feeder is still there and the starlings went straight for that one this morning. Need to go back out and buy another one!

By the way, someone thinks spring is starting, saw my first bumblebee of the year.

About nickbarban

RHS Qualified Horticulturalist and Garden Coach. I have been maintaining, designing and buidling gardens since 2002. With the company's 10 year anniversary coming up this year Im planning a whole host of stuff to give back, including blogging. Im here to answer your questions, give advice and just natter about anything to do with your garden. I'll be posting pictures and video and Id likr to see your gardens too. Nick Barban

Leave a Reply

